Connect with us


N.J.’s Coronavirus ‘Quarantine List’ Expanded to 31 States; Del., Md. Va. Now Added

Gov. Phil Murphy delivers a press conference, April 2020. (Pool Photo: Rich Hundley/ The Trentonian

Gov. Phil Murphy delivers a press conference, April 2020. (Pool Photo: Rich Hundley/ The Trentonian

New Jersey officials on Tuesday expanded the state’s list of locations from which travelers must quarantine for 14 days once arriving in the Garden State – and some of them include neighboring states.

The new states added to the list are:

  • Alaska
  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • North Dakota,
  • Nebraska
  • Virginia
  • Washington

The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. While several new states were added to the list, Minnesota was removed after its numbers decreased.

Get Daily Island News Updates
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

As of Tuesday, July 21, there are currently 31 states that meet the criteria under which travelers must quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact: Alaska; Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Delaware; Florida; Georgia; Iowa; Idaho; Indiana; Kansas; Louisiana; Maryland; Missouri; Mississippi; Montana; North Carolina; North Dakota; Nebraska; New Mexico; Nevada; Ohio; Oklahoma; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Virginia; Washington; and Wisconsin.

“It is critically important that all New Jerseyans remain committed to beating COVID-19 by remaining vigilant and continuing our collective efforts to reduce new cases and the rate of transmission throughout the state,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “In order to prevent additional outbreaks across New Jersey and continue with our responsible restart and recovery process, I strongly encourage all individuals arriving from these hotspot states to proactively get a COVID-19 test and self-quarantine.”

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states are instructed to self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care or treatment, or to obtain food and other essential items.

Click to comment