Connect with us


N.J. Adds More Areas to Quarantine List, Including D.C. and Puerto Rico

Gov. Phil Murphy, wearing a mask, runs a press briefing in June. (Pool Photo: Jose Moreno, The Philadelphia Inquirer)

Gov. Phil Murphy, wearing a mask, runs a press briefing in June. (Pool Photo: Jose Moreno, The Philadelphia Inquirer)

New Jersey’s list of states from which travelers must quarantine after entering has risen to include a federal district and a territory – both areas with significant connections to the Garden State.

Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico were added to the list Tuesday, along with Illinois, Kentucky and Minnesota, thus bringing the number of states and territories under the quarantine order to 36.  Gov. Phil Murphy said individuals traveling to New Jersey from the additional states with “significant community spread” of Covid-19 to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state or territory. Drivers entering the state can call 511 to determine their quarantine order status. The state has not set up road blocks to enforce the order, but has put into place a system under which people flying into New Jersey must fill out an information card.

“New Jersey’s restart and recovery process relies on our collective effort and commitment to beating Covid-19 and driving down rates of transmission across our state,” said Murphy. “Individuals traveling from these states must remain vigilant in their actions and proactively get a Covid-19 test and self-quarantine to prevent additional outbreaks from spreading throughout New Jersey.”

Get Daily Island News Updates
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items.

The states (and territories) on the list are:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Click to comment