Connect with us


N.J. Extends Quarantine Order to Travelers From 16 States As Coronavirus Spikes

Coronavirus (Image: CDC)

Coronavirus (Image: CDC)

With coronavirus cases spiking in an increasing number of states across America, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy on Tuesday widened the list of states from which people must quarantine if they have traveled there.

Under New Jersey’s criteria for quarantine orders, people who have come from these states should submit to a quarantine of 14 days upon entry to New Jersey:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texax
  • Utah

“If an individual is traveling to New Jersey from one of these sixteen states, he or she should self-quarantine period of 14 days,” Murphy said. “Our collective efforts to flatten the curve and beat the virus, in coordination with our neighbors in New York and Connecticut, have led to a steady decline in COVID-19 positive cases, hospitalizations, and rate of transmission. However, many states across the country are experiencing a significant uptick in this data and we must remain vigilant to continue our progress against the virus.”

Get Daily Island News Updates
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states “should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging,” the governor’s office said.

“Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items,” a statement continued.

The quarantine order will not be enforced by highway or airport checkpoints, as was the case in Florida. Traffic stops of vehicles with out-of-state plates were also referenced by New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo. It does not appear that either of those measures will be taken in New Jersey.

“Travelers and residents returning from impacted states typically will not need to check-in with public health officials, unless otherwise they are involved in contract tracing efforts or required to do so by their employer or any other federal, state or local law or order,” the statement from Murphy’s office said. “It is expected that individuals will follow the public health advisory to self-quarantine.”

Click to comment